15. 16. 17.

Days 15, 16 & 17

I have a marketing class today. Funny, I used to and still despise the word with every fiber of my being. The reason is not farfetched; in Nigeria, young girls are hired by banks as marketers – and then given darn near impossible targets. How do you expect me to bring in accounts worth a total of 10 billion in 6 months? Anyway, so these poor girls soon find that it takes a lot of persuasion to get someone to transfer even 1 million NGN to a new account, it’s even harder to find people with that kind of money. About persuasion; sometimes these marketers have to sleep with their potential ‘accounts’, in order to secure them or seal the deal or whatever. Ugh. Whether or not you choose to classify that as prostitution is your prerogative. The banks threaten to fire them if they don’t meet their targets, and in cases where they don’t get fired, they get berated. Imagine what that kind of life does to one’s psyche. Of course the girl doesn’t want to get fired, do you know how many years she spent job searching after graduation? This job, demeaning as it may be, pays bills; and so she continues at it till she gets something better. These things I have said may not be completely accurate; I’m just narrating what I have heard several times, over the years. Enough ranting, it’s just that the word ‘marketing’ leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

The class turns out to be very alright, and the way the lecture is presented makes marketing look/sound very glamorous. I like the fact that none of my lecturers so far are/have been boring.

My phone is still misbehaving. I’ve decided to purchase a new phone; this Bb isn’t making me happy anymore. First it had (and still has) push email issues, now this. It’s very sad, this impromptu purchase that I really can’t afford right now. And so I enlist the help of a friend – I’m very pragmatic, I have to carefully weigh all the pros and cons before making any purchase. We settle on the HTC One V and the Samsung Galaxy Ace2, but when I get to the Phone House, I find that these phones are not even available anywhere in France. Bummer. I need to get used to the French way of doing things: slow (most of the time anyway). Yeah so it’s back to the drawing board for me and my friend, and this time we decide on a Sony. I don’t particularly like this, but I don’t really have a choice – it’s the best of the lot for my budget. I go back to buy the phone, and I’m literally pained as I’m entering my card info. Why couldn’t my baby wait a little longer to get spoilt? One thing’s for sure though, I’m not getting rid of him. One day, he will wake up from his partial coma and he will be fine again 😦

So my new phone is not a 600€ ‘magic’ contraption, but there’s a lot of extra functionality that simply doesn’t exist on my Bb. While I’m grateful for that, it’s a bit too narrow for my hands in portrait mode, but also too wide in landscape. This is as you can imagine, very inconvenient. Oh well….hopefully I’ll get used to it soonish OR (dear God please o:) ) my Bb will encounter a miracle and begin to function again 😀

Leave a Reply

