Week 6

Monday, my 9 hour class got cancelled. Apparently the lecturer decided that he’s not a superhero after all, and so cannot teach for 9 hours.

Tuesday, I had a class in a conference room. Very comfy actually, and its really funny how I manage to keep awake during my lectures, seeing as they’re all 6 hours long. A sharp contrast to my undergraduate days, when I used to struggle to concentrate through 2-hour lectures. I’m becoming a useful member of society, I think…because this new development means I can sit through boring meetings – a prerequisite for executives – or not. Whoever is presiding over said meeting had better not be a boring individual, because I will excuse myself, go into the bathroom, and sleep. On the flip side, if I sleep for too long they might think I’ve had a heart attack or something, and they’ll come looking for me. And when they find that its sleep that I was sleeping, I will be fired for sure, on the grounds of ‘misconduct’. *sigh*

Wednesday, there’s this course I have, it’s a game actually – a business game. But it requires you and your group members to manage a virtual firm, and make decisions to increase profit. ‘Success’ at the end of the course means your share price has gone up, and that’s an A. Decisions are made quarterly, and for the purpose of this game, each ‘quarter’ is about 5 days or so. There are administrators, and when you make decisions, they compute the results of your decisions in relation to other ‘firms’ (i.e. teams, as there are over 20 teams playing this ‘game’), and then show you your results. You then go back and strategize, and make the decisions for the next quarter,  blah blah blah. You’re sha running a firm, sorry if you don’t understand all I’ve explained. I’m sleepy, and I don’t know how else to describe it. Well, the 1st decision had to be made at 18.00, so my team mates and I congregated in/at a bar to deliberate. Yes, a bar. I ordered chocolate at 1st, then Smirnoff Ice later (and one of my team mates said in his country, Smirnoff is for little 16 year old girls. I shall reserve my comments on that). Of course I thought the Smirnoff was cheap like the chocolate drink I ordered. Wrong, Smirnoff is 5€! Mscheeewwww. Anyway, we made the decision. And I think I discovered a beer I actually like. Strange. No, I did not buy, I tasted.

Thursday, my class got cancelled, apparently my lecturer was ill. Another wasted outfit, but then it meant, by extension, that the presentation we were supposed to make was cancelled, yay! I suppose I shouldn’t be so happy, seeing as we’re going to suffer for all these cancelled classes later on.

Friday, Integration of Cultures class. This fine lady started us off with a test, here are the questions: 1. Draw a map of the world. 2… I can’t remember the rest, but let’s just say I felt very ignorant at the end of the test. Here I was, feeling like a superstar in Geography, meanwhile I know nothing. Thank God it wasn’t a real test, she just wanted to use it to explain some things. Anyway, I came away from the class with a few links: this, this, and that. Enjoy. Oh and, you should probably use a computer to view those pages, not your phone.

I got my bank account sorted, now I can collect my refunds, yay!!! And the bank account comes pre-loaded with some money too 😀

I have an exam later this week, wish me well.

Leave a Reply

