Week 12

Monday: I totally forgot that the dreaded 9 hour class is supposed to hold today. Well, it’s accounting, and the guy does a good job of keeping a number of people interested in a boring course. That and he actually shames a few people who aren’t paying enough attention. He also finishes the course before the allotted time, which is really nice of him. I already know there’s no way I’m going to get home from school at 8 and start cooking, so I planned earlier, to eat waffles for dinner. However, seeing as he lets us off early, I decide to go grocery shopping with a classmate. At the store, I have been noticing that people have this loyalty card that supposedly gets you a discount every time you shop, so I decide to get one. I fill the required form, and they hand me the card – and even swipe it before they begin calling up my bill. In my mind, I think I have obtained some form of discount, but when I get home, I look at the receipt, and there’s absolutely no discount. Perhaps I don’t understand how this works, so please enlighten me, how exactly do these cards work? Sigh.

 

Tuesday: Programming. I had to wake up at 4am this morning to read up for this class, and yet I still feel as though I understand nothing. At lunch, a few students who have to write an article/report on Nigeria meet up with me for lunch, and I answer their questions. I like the fact that these ones emailed me their questions before hand, I replied and sent back, so the meeting we have today is just for formality’s sake, and for the sake of clarifying other things that may be unclear. I wonder why my own group wouldn’t just agree to do that, seeing as a physical meeting isn’t convenient for everyone. I have a class on Leadership after lunch, and the guy is pretty cool, everyone likes him much. He’s the same guy in whose class we had to make a car and figure out how to get it to move on its own.

 

Wednesday: Same combination of classes as yesterday, but with French class at the end. Guys, having a 9-hour lecture day is no joke. We have to make a presentation for this French class, on “unusual things about your country”. Preferably in French, but the dude knows we’re just on Level 1, so he can’t enforce that. I talk about the Efik Fattening Rooms, and the Ibo New Yam Festival. My classmates talk about theirs too, pretty interesting. I have 1 party and 1 dinner to attend this night, and even though I wish I could go, I get home at 8.45, my body is just too tired, plus the cold outside isn’t the least bit encouraging. I should at least go for the dinner, seeing as they asked me before hand what I would love to eat, but it started at 7pm, and getting there at 9.30 or even later wouldn’t be nice at all, it may have ended or something. I also don’t know the way, so I have to use a map, but navigation isn’t my strong suit, so it would probably be a disaster if I try it at night. I’m sorry 😦

 

Thursday: Job Forum Day at school today, where lots of companies come, set up shop in corners allotted to them. I don’t plan on participating though, because 1) I think it is a bit too early, and 2) Even the international companies like PWC are only recruiting for their branches in France, and my French isn’t passable enough to conduct business with. Anyway, I decide to go and have a look around, just to see. When I arrive, I immediately start feeling weird, because everyone is wearing a suit and carrying a briefcase (I don’t even own a suit, LoL), and here I am, looking like a biker. Oh well, I go into the cafeteria to eat, and even that has undergone a mini transformation, with better food and wine. O ga o. I still feel weird though, but whatever. I have to go to CAF afterwards, and I’m praying they don’t ask me for any more documents, because as I mentioned earlier, that’s what they did to a friend of mine.

 

When I arrive, I wait my turn, and step up to the service area, and as usual, the first question I ask is if the guy understands English. He does, a little, but it turns out that I don’t even need it. I understand everything he says, and I respond accordingly, in French. Progress 😀 Anyway, everything is good, they don’t require any more documents…but it will take at least 2 months for me to get any money. No problem, I’ll wait (as long as the money promised eventually enters the account).

 

Friday: Honestly, I don’t know how many more of these programming/statistics classes I can take. Apparently I have to endure about 3 more. Well, I have Finance later in the day (not such a bad class, by the way), and then a dance meeting. You see, we have another International Day coming up, and one African girl has suggested that we dance Azonto. She invites us to her place for pancakes (these ones call them crepes) and drinks, and dance practice (she lives 3 minutes away from school).

 

Long story short, we do more eating and drinking and playing than actual dancing, but we make a little headway before we leave.

 

I have lunch/dinner on Sunday with another group of African girls, fried plantains (dodo) and fried eggs, yay!

 

Saturday: Today is the sister’s birthday, whoop! She’s not entirely happy though, and unfortunately I’m far away, so I can’t do anything to remedy the situation. Perhaps I shall make a video of me dancing foolishly and send to her? no?

Its funny how, despite all the work I have to do, I always spend my Saturdays reading and researching trivia, i.e. things irrelevant to the assignments I have to do. I only start working really late in the night, when normal humans ought to have gone to bed. I need help *rme

 

I went to Carrefour today though, to buy my Rice Krispies (Nesquik doesn’t quite cut it for me), plantains for tomorrow, and other things. When I saw the plantains, I went over to check them out. Turns out there’s a tiny part of the fresh foods section that has African things (I even saw okro there, but they looked malnourished). In this section however, they placed a (n artificial?) dwarf palm tree in the middle, and I was slightly amused…like why is the tree there? It’s not like we’re Hawaiians, or something. We don’t jump from tree to tree like Tarzan either. LoL. Oyibo sef, I’m assuming they were trying to be thoughtful though.

 

Well, the plantains at Carrefour were unripe, so I left them and bought other things. But I still needed plantains, so I went to the oriental store when I got back to the city centre, and they had ripe ones. Meanwhile, Cours Mirabeau is now lit up, the Christmas market is now on at night, and I shall go one of these days, for vin chaud…Christmas comes early in these parts. While I was trying to cross the road to go wait for the bus, I heard a Nigerian song playing in a booth beside a merry-go-round (don’t know the name, but the chorus is “e no easy eh, eh eh eh eh…”). I actually went closer to see if it was a Nigerian manning the booth, but nope. Turns out it was the radio that was playing anyway.

 

There’s this underground passageway that I usually see near the bus stop where I wait. Today, I decided to go and see what goes on there. I didn’t totally succeed because I didn’t go all the way to the end, and this is because I saw a place right there, where they sell ALL sorts of crepes, and drinks. I ordered a buerre cassonade crepe, and it was awesome! Good thing I didn’t go all the way to see where the passageway leads though, because at the exact moment I climbed out, I saw my bus coming and had to run for it.

image

Saw this at Carrefour.

Leave a Reply

