Back From Roma

I hope everyone is having a lovely holiday period. Sorry these posts haven’t been regular.

So, I got back from Rome on Thursday, and I’ve been busy with different things since then, which is why I couldn’t upload a post yesterday. Today’s post however, will comprise the rest of the pictures that haven’t been posted. Enjoy!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
Will the real Santa please stand out?

image
Err, this picture was chosen by mistake (extremely sensitive phone screen), but I’ll let it stay. My little sister sent that, I think she wants shoes like that.

image

image
Ponte Sant’Angelo

image

image
Ponte Sant’Angelo again, and the Castel Sant’Angelo right ahead.

A brief history of this building:
The emperor Hadrian originally built this as a mausoleum for himself and his family, and after a while, it was converted to a fortress for the Pope. This was done by building a fortified, covered corridor between the castle and St Peter’s Basilica, to enable the Pope escape unseen, during a siege. Also, being that it was a military fortress, there are holes in the walls for soldiers monitoring any advance(s) to the castle. Burning oil could be poured on attackers from these holes, and if they had rifles back then, they could shoot too. Of course, for this purpose, the mausoleum had to be adequately remodeled.
This place was also used as a prison from time to time, and executions were also carried out there.
About the angel statue at the top of the castle, legend has it that there was a bubonic plague in 590 A.D., and as the pope was leading a procession to pray, he saw a vision of the Angel Michael atop the mausoleum, sheathing his sword and symbolizing that the plague was over.
These days though, the castle is a museum.

To read more, visit https://www.google.fr/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CC8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FCastel_Sant’Angelo&ei=EcDgUJ7UCu7M0AWOi4GQDw&usg=AFQjCNFZJDtP0pcrKqcTpTBacG1BThu_0A&sig2=MZ2-ZwiwITyJQ0xz3rfKkA&bvm=bv.1355534169,d.d2k and http://www.italyguides.it/us/roma/castle_st_angelo/castel_st_angelo.htm

I had to get an audio guide at the place where I paid for museum tickets, and there were about 36 stops in all. Took me about 3 hours to finish everything. Totally exhausting!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
View of the river Tiber from the top of the castle.

image
That’s saint Peter’s Basilica in the background

image
The statue I talked about

image

image

image

image
The last two pictures above are the holes in the walls I talked about earlier.

image
Basilica Papale di Santa Maria Maggiore

image
Again..

image
I think this is a Skechers shop, but the display reminds me of Bata, back in the days.

Next up, Spanish Steps. I hope I don’t get too overwhelmed, such that I can’t upload before the new year. However, in case I do get overwhelmed, Happy New Year in advance!

Leave a Reply

