One More

One more post before the clock strikes 12. Sorry I can’t put up the Spanish Steps post yet, because you see, I’m moving towards the North Pole tomorrow so I have to pack all my stuff. Packing is hard for me by the way, because I hate it, and I hate it because it makes my room disorderly, and I ALWAYS have trouble closing my box. This time around though, some things may just have to stay back, cos those boxes are not even trying to observe calm and close.

Went for lunch/dinner (it was between 4 and 5 pm) this evening, had some chicken filet, spaghetti with basil, and of course, cheese on top. For dessert, I had some tiramisu. Sorry I forgot to take pictures. Anyway, when it was time for me to pay my bill and leave, I handed them my card (of course I asked if I could use my card before settling down to eat), and it didn’t work. Hian. They tried it 2 or 3 more times, it just refused to work. Of course the problem was with their POS machine, but in my mind I was praying, just in case, that the problem wasn’t with my bank or card or something. Nigeria is too far away for me to start fighting with my bank over these things. Also, I had planned on withdrawing cash before traveling, so that I wouldn’t be strapped. Where would this cash have come from, if my card didn’t work? Ha. After all was said and done though, I had to walk across the road and withdraw cash to pay for my meal. The card worked this time *whew*.

Afterwards, I entered a shop on the main street, just to look around, as it is my last day in France. I was basically trying to enjoy the relatively warm weather before heading North where, as I said before, prayers for my warmth and safety would be needed. On my way out of the store, I stopped to say hello to a nice old man, and then as I was walking away, I felt a plop on my hand. It was bird poop. Tha heck? I have never been pooped on in my entire life! I usually refrain from walking under the trees that line the streets, but I looked up today on my way out, and saw that the trees were bare, so I assumed the darned birds had migrated for winter. For some reason, this made me so disconcerted that when my friend whom I haven’t seen in a while passed me and said hello and other things, I couldn’t even concentrate on what she was saying. Had to use a piece of paper to clean the yucky goo from my sleeve, and only then could I concentrate. Smh.

Sha, 2012 is over, like play like play. I’m too thankful for a lot of things that happened this year, one of which is the ability to literally tour the world. No matter how much I complain about the things I see around me (such as dog poop on the streets; keep your poop indoors people!), I am thankful for the opportunity to experience aspects of other cultures, I’m thankful that most of the things I learnt in school last semester are actually useful to me right now, and in the future. I’m thankful that even if we do not possess much, my folks are getting value for their money. Speaking of folks, I’m thankful for my family, I’m thankful for all the support, the weekly phone calls to make sure I’m alright, I mean, I’m supposed to be the one calling them, because it’s sort of cheaper from here, but no. They call me, they’re generous, they make me laugh, advice, pray for me, all across the Atlantic. Thank you. Ah, my fashionista little sister, who takes it upon herself to try and instruct me on what to do to look nice. I always attempt to resist her efforts, but I’m thankful. The little brother who likes to banter, LoL. Thanks for the laughs guys. Thankful for my forever playful dog, Stormie (hey baby!). I’m thankful for my friends too, I’ve never been the best friend anyone could have, but my friends have been amazing. Sometimes I’m too wrapped up in my issues to even care enough, but they’re still there, they still take time to check up on me, give advice, whatever it is that I need. Even with their limited income [I don’t have any millionaire friends yet (  ._.)], they call me. This is getting too mushy so I’ll stop. All of you know yourselves. Then there’s the one who calls me sweetness, even though God knows I’m more like bitterleaf (._. ). Thank you for ALL the support, for putting aside your issues to help me in every way possible, for being patient and being the bigger person when I’m misbehaving. This wouldn’t be complete without paying tribute to God, the one who knows me more than I know myself. Thank you for being faithful in my life and in the lives of my friends, thank you for providing, thank you for coming through in every aspect, thank you again and again.

I’m going to miss France though, my school, my quaint little room, the friends I made here, the guy at the cafeteria who used to scream ‘meatballs!’ every time he saw me, the others who used to crack jokes to make me laugh, most of the group mates I worked with, the members of staff who went out of their way to make me comfortable, the cheerful cleaning lady, the cute dude who always used to greet me with a smile and give up his seat for me on the bus (if it was too full and he was on it), the one who took it upon himself to teach me French, my real French teacher (thank you again, for the tickets to the wine tasting)…the list is endless. Thank you all, thank you. For everything, and for the memories.

*raises glass* Here’s to an awesome 2013, whatever ‘awesome’ means for each one of you.

Leave a comment