Updates on all sorts of things 1

Visa: I finally got that, yay!!! Still on the issue, my friends didn’t go to Berlin after all, but I would have appreciated it if they let me know either way. Oh well…

Hair: It got to a point where washing my hair was a source of dread. Like, the washing isn’t the problem, it’s the detangling that was a female dog. So I went to a salon and asked them to cut it off. No, I didn’t just waltz into a salon without preparation; I had to research what styles would suit my face (as I have a high, round forehead and all). What style did I come up with? Nothing. Zilch. So well, I went into the salon and asked the stylist what she thought would suit me. When I said I wanted to cut off all the straight ends, she went “really? are you sure?”, so I faltered and asked what she recommended. She said she’d do something along the lines of Emeli Sande’s hairstyle, i.e make the sides and back short, leave the top/middle straight. That was a wise choice because it gave me time to adjust to having short hair, without all the shock. Did I feel sad as my hair was being cut? Nope. It was so damaged (don’t worry, I hid this fact very well with my awesome 24/7 bun), all I felt was “eww, get this filth off me” as the locks fell onto my body. I still freaked out a bit when I got home though, but here’s a shout out to the stylist (who didn’t quite know how to handle African hair), she was such a trooper. So, I had the hybrid hair for 2 weeks, then I travelled to the UK. Finally got to see the boo, yesssss!!! Let’s talk about the UK for a bit, shall we? But before that, job applications/interviews

Applications/Interviews: I don’t know if there’s anyone alive who likes to apply for jobs. Personally, the only part I detest is crafting a suitable cover letter. Sheesh. I’m not going to say more on that, but anyway, this is my last semester of coursework, and I have to do an internship for the 1st 6 months of next year, so I’ve been dutifully handing in applications and all. Oh I also don’t like the aptitude tests. Why? Some of us are smart, but we don’t test well. That sounds like a lot of bull even to me, but it is what it is. However, I have passed the tests I’ve written so far, so yay. Thank God. I’ve also had one interview, with another coming up, so it’s looking good. It’s just, I feel like I should apply for more jobs, like I’m not doing enough to increase my chances. Some of my mates have sent out about 10-20 applications, and me…well…  -_-

UK: So I decided to put my visa to good use and go visit the boyfriend. Hmm. Because I decided to travel the week after I got my visa, I couldn’t take advantage of those cheap pay-2-weeks-in-advance flight tickets, and then the ones that were affordable weren’t at convenient times, as I had an interview the morning of the day I wanted to travel. Said interview went very well, kudos to the interviewer for doing her best to put me at ease. Anyhow, the next cheap option was to go by bus. I thought, well, if the bus is comfortable enough, I should be able to relax and all. I will spend the next few lines outlining my experience.

I bought a ticket to take me from Eindhoven to London, and the trip was supposed to take 8 hours, 23:30-07:30. We were also supposed to get on a ferry at some point, from Calais to Dover. I arrived at the station too early, and had to wait quite a bit but that was okay because I met some dude from Curacao who tried to introduce me to some sort of IT business, but when it was clear I wasn’t so interested, he gave up and we started talking about other things like radioactive isotopes. Really. And no, I’m not a chemistry major. My bus arrived when it was supposed to, and I got on. It looked so (dingy? tacky?) I couldn’t believe I was in Europe. Like, I’ve been on buses before, so I have a certain expectation of how their interiors are supposed to look, especially when I’m supposed to sit in them for 8 hours. My days. Anyway, I was happy to find a seat to sink into, and we began the journey. When we got close to the Calais port, we had to get off and be checked by the French border police, and the UK border agency. French check was a breeze, but UK, LOL. They deserve multiple awards for asking the most absurd questions known to man. “Do you have enough money to travel?” “Yeah, of course”. “How much do you have?” “And why would you be asking me that?” “Okay, where are you going after the UK?” Sigh.

After the border checks, we had to get on the ferry. Now, I’ve been on ferries before, so I thought this would be a nice opportunity to relax with a cup of hot chocolate and my nice book, but no. That day, I learnt the meaning of sea-sickness. I couldn’t walk without swaying, and I was just thinking: what the hell? Why is the English Channel like this please? See why I want to live in Scandinavia? none of that foolishness on the Baltic Sea. You won’t even know you’re moving. On the bright side, thank heavens I didn’t decide to go all the way by ferry, that would have been a disaster. I couldn’t even lie down, because all the couches were occupied.

Right, I’m going to stop now and go have lunch, and continue later

One thought on “Updates on all sorts of things 1

Leave a Reply

