A Collection Of Random Stuff Which, By Themselves, Are Too Brief To Be Considered Blog Posts II

  1. Oct 12: Remember how I said I want an instant camera? Now I want a Mercedes Benz 200. (It would have to be clean though, and look like new.) I suspect that something might be weird with me, because I have no clue why I would be wanting such a car. Maybe it has something to do with the state of my account? I feel like I’m too ‘sensible’ to buy such a car because, fuel economy, etc. I’ve wanted many cars over the years, and they’ve always been more modern-ish too. Meh. I’m a G-Wagen girl forever and ever, though.
  2. Oct 17: I read a bunch of short stories today, and a couple of them were written in first-person. When I read a story written in first person, the narrator usually comes off as the smart person in the group, or a smart person, period. Cases in point: The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and this. I’m thinking it might be interesting to read something written from the viewpoint of the ‘stupid’ person. <Perish the unkind thought that just ran through your mind.> Not like a special-needs person, I mean a normal person who just happens to have a low IQ. Maybe I just haven’t read enough stories, though.
  3. I now have an instant camera and I totally plan to be a nuisance with it. I went out on Friday (October 24) for a thing called Museum Night (not in my city, but in a city 15 minutes away by tram), and this is a thing where you get to visit all the museums in a city for a small sum, say, €10. Bear in mind that museums, especially the important historical ones, usually have an individual entrance fee of about €12. So being able to visit ALL the museums and exhibitions and things for €10? I’m in. But I didn’t want to be wandering around a strange city at night, alone – not that anything bad is expected to happen, but I prefer to have a safety net of sorts when I’m in certain situations. So, I joined meetup.com. And I found this group that was planning to ‘meet up’ at the ticket counter for this event. Yay, safety net found (even though this was still just a bunch of strangers). I met up with them, made introductions, chatted a bit before the tours began – we were all expats in the group, and we all signed up for the expats’ tour. Then, I proceeded to win minor cool points by whipping out my camera and taking pictures of people and handing them said pictures; I was asked to sign said photos too, heh. One person even asked why I was being so generous, because film for the camera is quite expensive. But then if I don’t take pictures of people and make them smile, what will I take pictures of? The trees in my backyard? Or shall I take selfies too with this? (I tried that, by the way. Woeful results.) So, here’s to being a continuous nuisance/cool person with my camera. The Museum Night was pretty cool, being that I’m such a fan of museums and history and such. Learned a bit more about Willem van Oranje – that’s William of Orange to you. Saw the 2 bullet holes left in the wall from when he was shot. Y’all, bullets passed through the poor man’s body and entered the wall. I’m tempted to tell the full story but nah. Just be reminded that christians too are guilty of practicing religious fanaticism.
  4. I got an email at the beginning of October, to say that my university email address will be repossessed by October 31, because I have graduated and am no longer a student there. Just one more nail in the coffin of my carefree studenthood. Even if one decides to take up PhD studies, it will never quite be the same again, will it? Of course, I am now going to send out a mail to everyone I have ever contacted with that address, to inform them of my departure and to give them my normal email address. 26 days later, I still haven’t found the words. 😦
    [Update: I finally found the words, on Oct 27. Today’s the last day, and I’m going to go look at Blackboard one last time, for nostalgia. I have to say, again, that in all this, my school life in Finland was hands down the best. And, speaking of school, congrats RUJG, on your graduation. I know you’re reading this. #EngineerTheMaster]

    So, you have yourselves a wonderful – or scary, depending on your location and/or idea of fun – weekend now, you hear?
    À tout! :*

Leave a Reply

