Quick Update

I got the job in Kano, yay! One of the things I remember from before receiving my offer letter is having to negotiate my salary. So, you go to school where they teach you about negotiations and how the outcome of such things is supposed to be a win-win situation for both parties. Well, Nigeria is a jungle so it doesn’t quite work – in the sense that the other party is (or appears to be) trying to get an outcome that’s only favorable to them. Anyway, I got a job. As a UX Designer, which is what I want. Yay.

[Aside: I seem to have gotten interesting UX Design side projects, but getting a project is only half of it. Getting paid is the other (often more uncertain) half, and as I mentioned earlier, Nigeria is a jungle so one has to be careful with ensuring they get paid. My latest method is to bill per project instead of per hour, break projects into phases and send invoices at the end of every phase. There also has to be a 20-50% down payment to begin with. )

I haven’t been around the city much, but I will say that the move here is the easiest I’ve ever done, because I had the space to leave a lot of stuff behind and only carry the most important ones. I didn’t have to struggle too much to close my suitcases – of which there were only 2 – one big, one small. What I saw on the drive from the Kano airport to my house reminded me of Isale Eko (even though I have never been to Isale Eko :/), but with Hausa names on buildings instead of Yoruba ones. The most common public transport mode is keke napep (tricycles), but I don’t like to ride in them that much because they’re so open, Kano is super hot at about 40 degrees (what wouldn’t I give to be in Finland right now?), and dusty too. Abeg.

I live in one of the company apartments, for which I pay N40,000/month. Not bad, considering this covers furnishing, 24/7 power, and fast internet. I’m not complaining at all (okay I’m complaining small, the furnishing leaves something to be desired but I’ve told myself the theme of my room is ‘rustic’, and the furniture matches that aesthetic). Lunch is a pain in the ass for me, because there’s no cafeteria or provision for food at work, the only places I can go without fearing food poisoning are really far, I don’t have a car, and this trip is just generally unproductive. For the most part, I’ve been eating Indomie (made in the microwave by some women at work) but can’t eat it any more because it’s messing with my body (blood pressure is through the roof, stomach is bloated, all sorts of rubbish).

So yeah, blood pressure is a bit problematic and now I have to cut salt/sodium from my diet. Recently discovered a no salt, no msg seasoning blend called Mrs Dash and I don’t know why things like this aren’t commonly found in Nigeria. I need easy, inexpensive access to good, healthy stuff! This coming week, I’m looking into easy, low sodium recipes I can make to take to work.

That’s it for now, cheers to the long weekend!

Leave a Reply

