2019: Cheers to the end of the decade!

I’m on team the decade began in 2010 and boy, I cannot quantify how much I’ve grown and how different I (think I) am, 10 years on. There’s quite a bit of evidence to that effect on this blog, but there’s a lot more that’s gone on offline. Anyway, on to the highlights of my 2019…

For the most part of this year, beginning in January, I dealt with hellish fibroids – I will not get too graphic but if you’re curious, Google “flooding fibroids”. I started seeing gynaecologists who prescribed surgery – but I was quite reluctant because I was still fairly new at my role and taking 6 weeks off wouldn’t be such a great look at such a busy period (I was managing 7 projects at one time). So I learned to manage a bit with tranexamic acid and eating healthy (I miss drinking Guinness Africa Special), but then one day that didn’t work anymore, and I landed in the ER because my doctor was afraid I’d have heart failure (due to a dangerously low blood count). My mom flew in the very next day, bless her – and for the next couple of weeks she cleaned up my diet even more, got me off all the medication, and surprisingly the peripheral symptoms of this condition (unpredictability, etc) got better. I was still losing way too much blood though, and eventually I scheduled surgery for December (less busy at work, etc). It was successful, I’m recovering quite nicely, and very happy to put this chapter behind me because it has been an ordeal.

I turned 30! And I had planned a solo trip to Beirut to reflect, enjoy, etc. And then I got turned back at the airport. Why? I needed to have $2,000 IN CASH – which I didn’t realize (I thought you just needed to show you had it). I tried to get it out of my account etc etc but the ATMs were out of cash. I went back home, collapsed into bed to sleep, and by the time I woke up my husband the GOAT had arranged a weekend trip to an island, etc etc. It was great, not gonna lie – we made new friends and once they heard it was my birthday, they ordered cake and champagne and tried to make up for the disappointment.

My mom and I went to Kigali for a few days this year, and it was great to see another African nation where things are progressing and you can see deliberate effort to make things good. I have heard (and to an extent, read) that all isn’t as it seems, and that’s something I have at the back of my mind. Still, what I saw and experienced was quite okay, and I’m happy I went. I tried local food, visited a couple of markets (neat, sellers seemed honest about the quality of their goods, no one was aggressive), power was constant, roads were mostly good, etc. It’s a hilly place though, and I imagine it takes some skill to drive through that. We visited the genocide memorial and … human beings are desperately wicked, but I’m happy to see the efforts made to foster peace and unity, AND deliver justice.

I did very okay at work, asked for and received a raise, but I can and will do better in 2020. One doesn’t need to be talented to do great at work; showing up and being consistent is more valuable I think, and that’s what I want to do more of in 2020. For the most part, I like my colleagues and the office culture, and will miss them when I move to Canada early next year – but our relationship is such that I will remain friends with a number of them.

Last year I wanted to be proud of myself and this year, I think I did that. For once, I’m not disenchanted with myself or my life, and I’m very grateful for all the circumstances that have come together to make that possible. Here’s to more of that in 2020.

Cheers to the end of the decade, and here’s to amazing things in the new year! Let me end with this great rendition of Auld Lang Syne: https://youtu.be/rrJLrBOpoFs

Leave a comment